Johanna Gill, SCSI President

SCSI President Johanna Gill

Johanna is a Registered Valuer and a Director in the Valuation & Advisory department in Cushman & Wakefield where she heads up the Fund Valuation team, working for clients such as Irish Life Investment Managers, Hibernia REIT and Hammerson. She has served for two years on the Society Board as Senior VP and Second VP. Johanna has been involved in the SCSI for a long time and is a member of the Valuation Professional Group and the Sustainability for Building Design Working Group. Previously, she served on the APC Sub-Committee, Education Standing Committee, Red Book Working Group and has represented the Society on the RICS International Valuation Standards Board.




The SCSI is an incorporated company limited by guarantee and a registered charity.

The Board of Directors is the primary governing body of the Society
and also acts as the Officers of Council. The Board comprises
(i) The President;
(ii) The Immediate Past President;
(iii) The Senior Vice President;
(iv) The Second Vice President; and,
(v) The Honorary Treasurer

Duties of the Board include the following:

  • Setting the strategic objectives and direction;
  • Updates Council on the performance of the Society and other matters;
  • Uphold fiduciary duties as Directors and Charitable Regulatory duties as Trustees
  • Assessing, monitoring and managing the strategic risks;
  • Managing the performance of the CEO
  • Overseeing the management and co-ordination key operational decisions;
  • Delegating to and overseeing work of other committees (particularly Standing Committees) as appropriate.


Standing Committees

The Standing Committees are Finance, Dispute Resolution, Communications, Regulation and Education which provide the following support to the Board:

  • Delegated authority from and accountable to the Board and report regularly;
  • Providing reports & updates to Council, as applicable
  • Developing and overseeing implementation of the strategic objectives in their area of responsibility and linked to the Board business plan;
  • Advising the Board and the Council on such other matters as they require, and
  • Delegating work to sub-committees or working parties of members and non-members as considered appropriate.



The SCSI Council supports the Board to develop and deliver the Strategic Objectives and direction of the Society in the interests of all members. 

Specific duties include the following: 

  • Providing sectoral/group/regional updates and reports at Council meetings
  • Setting regulations for Continuous Professional Development
  • Admitting new members to the Society
  • Setting rules for Assessment of Professional Competence
  • Refusal of admission to membership without reason
  • Nominating an Honorary Member for election at the General Meeting
  • Reinstating members that have been removed (either conditionally or unconditionally)

Registration Body

The Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland is named in the Building Control Act 2007 as the registration body for Quantity Surveyors & Building Surveyors.

In this capacity, the Society:

  1. Provides for the registration of titles including Building Surveyors and Quantity Surveyors.
  2. Maintains the statutory register to ensure that anyone using the professional title “Building Surveyor” or “Quantity Surveyor” has the recognised qualifications, training and experience in accordance with the provisions of the Building Control Act 2007.
  3. Promotes the statutory register to provide members of the public with reassurance that the Building Surveyors and Quantity Surveyors listed on the register are qualified professionals who comply with strict codes of ethical and professional conduct.
  4. Investigates complaints about professional performance of registered parties.

Only registered Quantity Surveyors or registered Building Surveyors may use the title. A person who is not registered and who practices or carries on business under any name, style or title containing the registered title(s) in any format may be guilty of an offence.


Board Members & Company Secretary


Johanna Gill

Senior Vice President

Michéal Mahon

Second Vice President

TJ Cronin

Immediate Past President

Des O'Broin

Honorary Treasurer

Alan Hardy

Company Secretary

Des O'Broin

Professional Group Chairs

Building Surveying

Noel Larkin

Commercial Agency

Declan Bagnall

Geomatics Surveying

Sarah Sherlock

Mineral Surveying

Shane Mc Dermott

Planning & Development

Samuel Buck

Quantity Surveying

Tómas Kelly

Property & Facilities Management

Paul Mooney

Residential Agency

Jonathan Quinn

Rural Surveying

Jeremiah McGrath


Paul McElearney

Project Management Surveying

Michael Hogan

Elected Council Members

Commercial Agency Surveying

Brian Meldon

Property & Facilities Management Group

Jerome O'Connor

Building Surveying

Andrew Ramsey

Residential Agency

Ed Carey

Regional Chairs

Southern Region

Tony Wallace

Western Region

Enda McGuane

North Eastern Region

Eamonn Gavigan

South Eastern Region

Gillian Tyrrell

Standing Committee Chairs


Alan Hardy


Peter Stapleton


Kevin Hollingsworth

Dispute Resolution 

Gerry O'Sullivan

Regulation (SCOR)

Shane McCarthy

Young Members

Young Members Committee Chair

Catherine Connolly


RICS Ireland Board Chairman

Des Byrne

RICS International Governing Council

Isobel O'Regan