Main image upload

SCSI President Claire Solon

Claire Solon was elected President of the Society for the year 2016/2017 at our AGM on 10th May 2016.  Claire is a Chartered Planning & Development Surveyor and will serve a one-year term as President of the Society until May 2017. 

Claire Solon is Head of Property at Friends First with responsibility for over €500m of property assets. 

Claire previously worked in ESB where she held position as Head of Estates Management with responsibility for the ESB property portfolio.  One of the major projects in the portfolio included the 40,000 sqm redevelopment of the ESB head office on Fitzwilliam St Lower which recently received planning permission. 

Previously she was Development Director in Bennett Construction where she managed many largescale mixed use development proposals comprising retail, office, medical centre, hotel and residential uses.

She is a Fellow of the Society of Chartered Surveyors Ireland (SCSI), and a Fellow with the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors.  Claire holds a first class honours degree in Property Economics and has extensively lectured on property valuation methodology in Degree and Masters courses in DIT.  She currently holds the position of President in the Society of Chartered Surveyors, the body which represents approx 5,000 member surveyors in Ireland.  


In relation to the governance of the profession on an ongoing basis, the supreme body is the Council, of which the President acts as Chairman. The function of the Council is to make decisions on matters of policy, which are then implemented by various subsidiary committees and boards.

Representation on Council is from two sources, by direct election and by ex-officio representation, for example Honorary Officers and representatives from the various divisions.

President and Treasurer


Claire Solon

Senior Vice President

Colin Bray

Second Vice President

Des O'Broin

Immediate Past President

Andrew Nugent

Honorary Treasurer

Alan Hardy

Professional Group Chairs

Building Surveying

Alan Baldwin

Commercial Agency

Brian Meldon

Geomatic Surveying

Ben King

Mineral Surveying

Peter Kinghan

Planning & Development

John Mc Nally

Quantity Surveying

Micheál Mahon

Property & Facilities Management

Sean Aylward

Residential Agency

Ronan O Hara

Rural Surveying

Paul Good


George Saurin

Project Management Surveying

Greg Flynn

Elected Members

Building Surveying

Andrew Ramsey

Building Surveying

Kevin Sheridan

Commercial Agency

Edward Carey

Project Management Surveying

Derry Scully

Regional Chairs

Southern Region

Michael Mooring

Western Region

Pat Carter

North Eastern Region

Shane O Hanlon

South Eastern Region

Karol Jackson

Standing Committee Chairs


Alan Hardy


Des O'Broin

Communications and Events

Rowena Quinn

Dispute Resolution Regulation Representative on Council

Gerry O'Sullivan

Regulation (SCOR)

Kathy Cruise

Young Members

Young Members Committee Chair

Zara Walsh


RICS Ireland Board Chairman

Des Byrne

RICS International Governing Council Nominee